On Loneliness

“Loneliness is the absence of a needed relationship.” – Dr Bill Webster

Last year I was fortunate enough to spend Christmas with a friend and her family. It was, for the most part, a happy occasion; I was surrounded by delighted children, good company and even better food. In fact, it was probably was one of the best Christmases I’ve had in a long time. And yet, at times, I felt disconnected from those around me, almost as though I was an intruder in this scene of familial bliss. I couldn’t put my finger on exactly why this alienation had suddenly crept up on me, and it’s only now, a couple of weeks later, that I have the answer: loneliness.

Loneliness is one of the most crippling states of being, and yet a subject often swept under the carpet. And contrary to popular belief, you don’t have to be alone to be lonely. You can very much enjoy periods of solitude or be in a room full of people and still feel isolated from the world around you.

Continue reading